Tags

, , ,

If I died tomorrow, I’d be perfectly content. No, it’s true, I haven’t done everything I’d like to in my life. I’ve never seen a show ON Broadway (Though I have seen two shows Off-Broadway – Rent and Avenue Q). I’ve never seen London, Paris, Rome, or any of the other great cities in Europe. I’d like to someday get married (not a civil partnership) and adopt a child. I want to be crew on a concert tour, or broadway tour. I’ve never been in a helicopter. 

But if I were to die tomorrow, I would say that for a 20 year old, I’ve had a good life. I’ve been to New York, been to the tippy top of the Empire State Building, seen the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, pounded the pavement of 42nd Street. I’ve seen Lincoln Center, the apartment of Will and Grace and the “Friends”, and ate at some of the most AMAZING restaurants. I’ve been all along the Eastern Seaboard, from Maine, to Florida. I’ve been cave tubing in Belize, and kayaked across a bay in Mexico. I’ve been nominated for numerous awards for my work in theatre over the last 14 years, been offered jobs because of some of the credits on my resume even. I have been the lighting designer on a world premier production (The Global Lovers – Cincinnati Fringe Festival ’10). I’ve met some of the most amazing people, famous and not, including Neil Armstrong, Mark Wood, and India Ferrah. But most importantly, I’ve been me. These last 20 years on earth have had their ups, many of which are listed above, and their downs (we’ll not go there). But all in all, it’s been a good ride. If I died tomorrow, I’d have nothing to complain about. 

20 years down, and here’s to 20 more.

