My mother, bless her heart, is the most controlling person I know. I understand that being a parent is stressful, especially when you’re a conservative southern Baptist, and you have a gay son who is HIV positive. But really, I have a Dr appointment tomorrow, and she feels the need to COUNT my medication and see how much I have left… 

Last time I checked I was 20. I make my own appointments. I make my own schedule. I go where I want, do what I want, and say what I want. And she feels the need to take time out of her day to stop and count MY medication? 

Personally, I think it’s foolish. I can clearly handle myself. I don’t need her breathing down my neck every five FUCKING seconds about taking my meds, getting to class, writing that paper, scheduling or re-scheduling that appointment, etc, etc, etc. It’s getting old, fast. 

And when I tell her that I want to do something to be pro-active about my education, she says no. 

overit.com

Rant over.

